My 1st THM Dinner..."E"

Day 1 on Plan

My 1st THM Dinner..."E"

My 1st THM Dinner…”E”

So today was my first day on the THM (Trim Healthy Mama) plan and it went really well! I didn’t feel like I was on some crazy, restrictive diet that would end up being unsustainable in the long run (like so many I…and let’s get real, probably YOU…have tried). But it is the first day, so how hard can it be, right? I felt energized and I wasn’t starving all day. In a word, I felt NOURISHED. Big thumbs up for that!

I am at a starting weight of…155 pounds and I am 5′ 3″. Boo. BUT, that’s why I’m here and that’s why I’m embarking on this new journey, right? Right. I had my son almost 3 years ago, like I mentioned above, and I had him by emergency C-section. I was a chubby child, a chubby teenager, a chubby college student. I got it together after college and slimmed down to 125 pounds. I looked good. I ate well and exercised regularly. Never felt better!

After I got married, I gained about 10 pounds, but I still felt and looked good, but when I got pregnant I gained a lot of weight. As in 55 pounds(!). A lot of that was water retention, but let’s face it, no one gains that much water weight during pregnancy. Some of that was fat in, addition to my sweet baby, and I know I’m not alone. I was happy to get on the scale after birth and I was automatically down 25 pounds. Woohoo! I didn’t realize I’d lose that much instantly, so it was a welcome surprise.

Over the next year I lost very s-l-o-w-l-y. I had a hard time feeding my baby because my milk never came in as it should, and I expected to lose weight easily because everyone told me I would since I’d be breastfeeding. Not so for this mama! After doing EVERYTHING to try and increase my milk supply, at 10 weeks old my baby was completely formula-fed.

I was depressed that I couldn’t nurse my son because it’s something I had looked forward to, but I was also depressed because I was overweight again…a reality I hated. And what do I love when I’m depressed? I love sugar, of course! Sugar was (and has been, even recently) my drug of choice. That really slowed my weight loss.

In the last two years, I’ve lost and regained a handful of times, but I’ve never gotten below 145 pounds. I refuse to settle for the belief that I can’t get back to a healthy weight after having a baby. For this 5’3″ shorty, I will try and try and try until I find something that works with this new body I’ve inherited after pregnancy. What I did to lose weight before has not worked for me. Nothing I’ve tried has worked for me (I’ll talk more about what I’ve tried soon), and if it has worked some, it hasn’t been something sustainable (obviously).

I NEED to be healthy. For myself, for my husband, for my son. So I’m giving Trim Healthy Mama a try.

Here’s what I ate today:

7am S Breakfast: Muffin in a Mug, recipe page 256 (I made the chocolate version and I added some raspberries and blackberries for my own little tweak…YUM. In the interest of ethical blogging, I won’t share the recipe on here, but I will find out if I’m allowed to), 2 shots of espresso over ice with 1 packet of Truvia and 3/4 cup of almond milk

10am FP Snack: 1/2 cup plain, 0% Greek yogurt with 1 Tablespoon of PB2 powder and 2 packets of Truvia (WINNER)

12:15pm S Lunch: 4 oz. cubed chicken breast (dredged in almond flour) and capers sauteed in grapeseed oil and simmered in a quick sauce (if you can even call it that!) of chicken broth and lemon juice, 3 fresh baby bell peppers, 3 celery sticks

2:30 S Snack: my own version of “Skinny Chocolate” recipe page 371, I combined 1 Tablespoon coconut oil, 1 Tablespoon almond butter, 1 Tablespoon cocoa powder and 2 Truvia packets, stirred well, poured out onto a parchment-lined saucer and froze. DELICIOUS.

4:30 FP Snack: 1 Wasa cracker, 1 wedge of Laughing Cow Swiss cheese, 5 celery sticks, 2 shots of espresso over ice with 1 packet of Truvia and 3/4 cup of almond milk

6:30 E Dinner: Grilled chicken with a simple spice blend, 3/4 cup quinoa cooked in fat free chicken broth, a handful of fresh kale, some chopped green onions, the juice of a half a lime, a little cayenne, cumin and paprika (I can already tell, this is going to be a go-to E meal)

I am actually really good about not eating after dinner, so I plan to continue this. I like to go to bed a little hungry and I think I will be just that in a half hour or so, when I do head that way.

Sleep tight!

This entry was published on July 12, 2013 at 2:51 am. It’s filed under Food Diary, Meal Planning, Recipes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

